jump to navigation

LED Message Board 13 May 2012

Posted by David Wilson in General.
trackback

For the past few months I’ve been working on a new project. The Mac OS version of software that supports the Dream Cheeky LED Message Board

http://dreamcheeky.com/led-message-board

The software supports multiple LED Message Boards, all you have to do is plug them in. Even better the software simulates the presence of a LED Message Board which means you don’t have to have one connected as all. This means you can you your gigantic 27″ iMac screen as a 7 x 21 LED Message Board!

The Simulated Message Board can be resized to set for full screen.

You can set the message board to display text, static images or a directory of images. the document window is shown below.
And you can set attributes for speed, loops, direction on each, and loop the entire document!

On the simulated LED Window you can click the individual LED’s yourself. The program lets you save what’s on the simulated LED display thus allowing you to save a sequence of images so that you can play these back using the movie or directory feature.

The LED Message Board is now available for download c/- Dream Cheeky at http://dreamcheeky.com/sites/default/files/LEDMessageBoard.dmg
The software is written for Mac OS 10.7 and above and has been signed for Mountain Lion.

– David

Comments»

1. fluke thermometer probes - 30 April 2013

Appreciating the commitment you put into your blog
and in depth information you offer. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted
rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my
Google account.

David Wilson - 30 April 2013

Your comment has made my day. Thank you. I’m inspired now…

– David

2. Josh R - 20 September 2013

Nice piece of software. Would you consider opening up the communication protocol at all? I’d be interested in using this to display Twitter messages, on the LED device itself.

David Wilson - 22 September 2013

Hi Josh…

DreamCheeky have a Developer Manual available for the LED Message Board. http://www.dreamcheeky.com

I’m not sure that the manual is available on their web site.

– David

3. Brad - 7 July 2023

Hi there. Not sure if this post is still monitored. I came across this device in my storage (completely forgot that I had it), my wife bought it for me back when thinkgeek was into making cool gadgets. And wondered if you still had the source code for your application. I’m interested to see if perhaps that code can be adapted to linux or windows and maybe I can revive support for these as I know quite a few people who still have these devices and they’re just paperweights since the company doesn’t seem to exist anymore.

Let me know, please and thank you. Great site btw.

David Wilson - 7 July 2023

Hi Brad, thanks for the feedback.
Wow… it’s 10+ years since I touched the LED Message Board.
Check your mail for some further feedback.


Leave a comment