jump to navigation

El Capitan – running on a MacPro1,1 9 June 2015

Posted by David Wilson in General.
trackback

I posted almost a year ago about my success with Yosemite running on a MacPro1,1 – here is that post. https://dgwilson.wordpress.com/2014/07/20/yosemite-on-a-macpro11/

I’ve now been able to get El Captian running on the same MacPro1,1 and it was easy. Although it did take a couple of hours.

The MacPro already had a Yosemite installation.

As for the original post I connected the MacPro to my MacBook Pro over Firewire 800 with the MacPro running in Firewire target disk mode. Next I ran the El Capitan installer – I had already downloaded this to my MacBook Pro. I set the installation to the Yosemite OS drive. The installation ran for some time… and some more time… – it completed successfully and rebooted as you would expect where I was subsequently presented with a logon screen. It took a while before I got a desktop up… but eventually the MacBook Pro was running El Capitan off the Hard Drive in the MacPro.

Next I changed by startup disk back to the Internal drive in the MacBook Pro and rebooted – except I gave up on that after a while and power cycled the MacBook Pro. When everything was back online and all of the drives were connected again (over firewire) I then had to update the boot.efi… via Terminal

cd /Volumes/El Capitan/System/Library/CoreServices/
chflags nouchg boot.efi
cp boot.efi boot_dgwcopy.efi
cp /Users/dgwilson/Desktop/Hackintosh/boot.efi boot.efi
chflags uchg boot.efi

Quit Terminal
Eject the MacPro drives
Disconnect the Firewire Cable
Power Off MacPro
Power on MacPro – option key held down
Select El Capitan drive
Continue boot

Success.

– David

p.s. I installed some software under El Capitan that required a system reboot. The machine did not come back after the reboot – instead booting into Yosemite which was installed on another drive. I’ve since managed to fix the issue… so for the record…

Make sure you’re running the boot.efi (as above) and it is installed in

/usr/standalone/i386

/System/Library/CoreServices/

with the appropriate commands of

chflags nouchg boot.efi

chflags uchg boot.efi

for both directories.

AND PLEASE – MAKE SURE YOU MAKE THESE CHANGES ON THE CORECT DRIVE /Volumes/El Capitan

Comments»

1. Optional Delusion (@optionalD) - 2 October 2015

Cheers! This is just the guide I was looking for.

2. Lysander Lenihan - 13 October 2015

No sip system integrity protection enabled though, and why didnt the boot efi guy from yosemite make a new one and he uses revoboot now? Some is he does not have a lot extra time… Is it running ok now? Was this with the actual public release?

3. Steve - 12 November 2015

Have you got bootcamp working?

I can’t install it, it says my drive was partitioned with a different utility.

David Wilson - 12 November 2015

I haven’t tried with bootcamp. Good idea though.

For the latest on this topic, have a read of this forum thread: MacRumors EFI Developers thread
There is a new EFI with lots of good features in it. I’m having issues actually getting an installation to complete on both MacPro’s that I have – the last two things I can swap are RAM (I have new RAM in transit) and the video card – I’m working to get another one. So for me the road is not that good. For others it is wonderful…. so your millage may vary. Good luck.

Also have a very good read of this post: MacRumors El Capitan Installer for MacPro1,1 – Developers thread

– David


Leave a Reply

