jump to navigation

I’ve been Google Mapping 8 May 2006

Posted by David Wilson in General.
trackback

It's awsome! Firsty for a look at the power of Google Maps on a web page, look at either of the URL's listed below.

http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/dgwilson/GoogleMaps.html (Stable)

http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/dgwilson/GoogleMaps_new.html (Development)

Anyone can have a play with Google Maps (that means YOU). There are some things you'll need:

  • A Web site (provided by your ISP)
  • A Text editor
  • A GoogleMaps API key (Free!)
  • A project – something to do

Here are the references that I used:

Before you leap in like I did, have a read of Mike Williams Google Maps API Tutorial and look at the examples along with the source code. Then if you like take a look at my source code there are some differences. Now take your own path for your particular project.

I work on the html file on my Mac. I use the unix "vi" editor (there will be easier ways I'm sure) and then I upload the file to my ISP using the unix shell script below:

#!/bin/sh
HOST='ispwebsite.net.nz'
USER='myaccountxyz'
PASS='mypasswordxyz123'
# Script is for uploading files to homepage
# file to upload = $1
# ./ftpup myfile.html

ftp -n $HOST <<END_SCRIPT
user $USER $PASS
put $1
quit
END_SCRIPT
exit 0

I run the script with this command: ./ftpup.sh GoogleMaps_new.html

Have a go, try out Google Maps for yourself. I did this for my Nephew (James) and my son (Grant) to show each other where they lived and went to school relative to each other. I then added other members of the family and the project has kept growing ever since.

I still don't have much knowledge of JavaScript, though I do have a programming background. You can get away with quite a lot.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

